Loewe’s Passion Oratorio Das “Sühnopfer des neuen Bundes” was probably composed in 1847. The work is divided into three parts, each subdivided into three sections. Each of the resulting nine scenes corresponds with one of the traditional stations of the Passion story.

Loewe used the usual forms of recitative, arioso, aria, chorus and chorale in this work. He nevertheless succeeded in giving the music an absolutely personal character, yet at the same time a diversity of expression. Precisely this diversity of expression has ensured that the oratorio genre has become an important part of the sacred music repertoire in recent years.

This edition takes all available sources into consideration and offers the complete material for the first time in a practical performing edition.

- Urtext edition reflecting the latest research findings
- Clearly presented performance material
- Duration: approx. 135 minutes