This volume contains all the great monologues, arias and ariettas which Rameau composed for “grand dessus” and which are sung by sopranos and mezzo-sopranos today.

Arias for soprano and mezzo-soprano from the operas “Castor et Pollux” (Minerve, Phébé) / “Dardanus” (Vénus) / “Les Fêtes de l’Hymen et de l’Amour” (Orthésie) / “Les Fêtes de Polymnie” (Polymnie, Stratonice) / “Hippolyte et Aricie” (Phèdre) / “Les Indes galantes” (Hébé, Phani, Zaïre) / “Platée” (Junon) / “La Princesse de Navarre” (Une Devineresse) / “Les Surprises de l’amour” (Uranie, Hersilide) / “Le Temple de la Gloire” (Lydie, Plautine) / “Zéphyre” (Diane) / “Zoroastre” (Érinice).

• Detailed historical introduction (Fr/Eng)
• Idiomatic piano reduction based on the “Opera Omnia Rameau”
• Each piece is introduced by a précis of the dramatic situation and an English translation of the vocal text
• Co-edited by the Centre de musique baroque de Versailles and the Société Jean-Philippe Rameau
• Distributed exclusively by Bärenreiter

The following volumes will appear within the next few months:
BA 9191 Dessus (soprano), vol. 1
BA 9192 Dessus (soprano), vol. 2
BA 9193 Dessus (soprano), vol. 3
BA 9194 Dessus (soprano), vol. 4