Schubert’s great C minor Sonata D 958 was composed in 1828 just a few months before his death, along with the late sonatas in A major (D 959) and B-flat major (D 960). Conceived as a triptych, they constitute his musical testament to the piano sonata genre.

This scholarly-critical edition by Walburga Litschauer is based on the “New Schubert Edition” and presents this masterpiece in a spacious new engraving. Notes on performance practice, especially on pedalling, and Schubert’s distinctive manner of writing accents, form a Foreword to the work. Rounding off the edition is a Critical Commentary which presents alternative readings of interest to performers. Schubert’s drafts for all four movements of the sonata can be accessed on Bärenreiter’s website.

• Newly engraved scholarly-critical performing edition
• Detailed notes on performance practice (Ger/Eng)
• Practical page turns
• Access to Schubert’s drafts at
• New Foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Eng)